Section 6 of the act described the jurisdiction of the University to be the entire state of Assam and that its affiliating jurisdiction will directly cover all five districts of South Assam of which all the existing colleges shall be automatically transferred to the new University from the date of its establishment. In the wake of resentment from the Brahmaputra Valley, the Act was amended and the jurisdiction of Assam University was limited to five districts of South Assam alone. The districts are Cachar, Hailakandi, Karimganj, North Cachar Hills and Karbi Anglong.